Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics
USINFO | 2014-01-23 11:56

As it announced its annual Dorian Awards, the group hailed James Franco as its Wilde Artist of the Year.

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) has named Steve McQueen's 12 Years a Slave as best film of the year.

The group, which comprises 80 entertainment journalists in the U.S. and Europe, unveiled the winners of its annual Dorian Awards today.

James Franco was singled out by GALECA for its Wilde Artist of the Year Award.

The Dorian Award for film performance of the year by an actor went to Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club, while Cate Blanchett earned the actress honors for Blue Jasmine.

The French lesbian romance Blue Is the Warmest Color was hailed as both foreign-language film of the year and LGBT film of the year, while Linda Bloodworth-Thomason's documentary Bridegroom, which recounts what happened to a young gay couple when one of the men died, was awarded documentary of the year.

The category of Unsung Movie of the Year resulted in a tie between Kill Your Darlings, in which Daniel Radcliffe plays a young Allen Ginsberg, and Short Term 12, a drama set in a center for at-risk teens. Gravity was chosen as Visually Striking Film. And Pedro Almodovar's comedy I'm So Excited! took Campy Flick honors.

On the TV side, Netflix's women-in-prison dramedy Orange Is the New Black tied with HBO's Liberace biopic Behind the Candelabra as TV drama of the year. Orange also was named LGBT drama of the year, and one of its stars, Laverne Cox, received the group's "We're Wilde About You" Rising Star Award.

HBO's Girls won TV comedy of the year, while the cabler's hospital comedy Getting On received the award for Unsung TV Show.

Michael Douglas won the TV actor award for Behind the Candelabra, while Jessica Lange won her third Dorian Award in a row for playing an aging witch in American Horror Story: Coven, with the show taking the title of Campy TV Show of the Year.

As previously announced, the group chose Lily Tomlin as the recipient of its special Timeless Star tribute, given to "an actor or performer whose exemplary career is marked by character, wisdom and wit."

GALECA will hold a toast for its winners on March 9 at a location in Hollywood to be announced.


©2012-2014 Bywoon | Bywoon